Close this search box.

Business Computing Professional

Education » Content Library » Certifications » Business Computing Professional

COMMON Business Computing Professional

The COMMON Certified Business Computing Professional, or CCBCP, is the top level of certification. This certification highlights that you have a strong background in IT but yet also have a solid understanding of how businesses operate. Many employers value certification, and it sets you apart from other IT professionals.

Online Exam: 71 questions, two-hour time limit

Price: $345/Member, $445/Non-Member

The CCBCP exam also is administered online by a virtual proctor. If you do not pass the exam, you are eligible to retake the exam after 30 days.

After passing the exam, certification is in force for four years (starting on the passing date). Recertification is automatic, provided you complete and submit documentation that you have completed at least the minimum requirements noted in the recertification

Please contact COMMON at for additional information.

Candidate Profile

  • Five years of IT work experience
  • CBCA certified
  • A technical certification (such as Microsoft Certified IT Professional or CompTIA Security+) has been earned*

* Holding a technical certification demonstrates your technical competence and is an integral part of the CCBCP certification. Acceptable certifications meet the following guidelines:

  • Valid at time of sitting for the CCBCP exam or achieved no later than 12 months from the date of passing the CCBCP exam
  • Reflect technical business computing-related skills
  • Above an entry level certification from the certifying company or authority

Hardware or sales-related certifications do not qualify.

You may submit any other certification, degree, or credential for consideration to the COMMON Certification Program Manager if you feel it qualifies but does not fall under the general guidelines outlined above. The COMMON Certification Steering Committee will make the final decision on whether or not the credential is acceptable. This decision is final.

Examples of non-acceptable certifications include :

  • CompTIA (A+, Network, PDI+, CTT+, Project+),
  • Microsoft (Microsoft Office Certifications – all levels);
  • IBM (IBM Certified Sales Specialist,
  • IBM Certified Sales Expert,
  • IBM Certified Associate (IBM CA)),
  • Linux Professional Institute (LPIC-1).

Examples of acceptable certifications include:

  • CompTIA (Security+, Server+, Linux+, CDIA+, CTP+),
  • Microsoft (Microsoft Certified IT Professional and higher- all technologies),
  • IBM (IBM Certified Professional (IBM CP) or higher),
  • Linux Professional Institute (LPIC-2 or higher).

CCBCP Exam Topics

The CCBCP exam tests your technology, business, and personal skills at a level that recognizes your experience in the IT field. The test focuses on five aspects of business computing.

Security and Regulatory Compliance

  • Confidentiality and security
  • Records management
  • Legal discovery
  • Government regulations and compliance
  • Auditing
  • Encryption

Information Management

  • Managing information assets
  • Best practices
  • Systems and networking
  • Documentation
  • Business continuity


  • Software, hardware, and service agreements
  • Budgeting
  • Business initiatives
  • Analytics
  • Cost modeling

Dynamic Technology Management

  • Adopting new technology
  • Enterprise architectures
  • Technology trends and directions
  • Solution identification and development


  • Project planning, dependencies, risk assessment, progress tracking
  • Project architectures
  • Project scope and budget
  • Team skill evaluation
  • Managing change
  • Business goals and objectives
  • Business planning
  • Business culture

Recertification Guidelines

Business computing is dynamic. Therefore, certification holders must continue to learn emerging technologies and grow their skills throughout their career. To ensure that certification holders are maintaining up-to-date knowledge and skills, certificate holders must earn COMMON Education Credits (CECs).

Recertification is required every four years on the anniversary of the date the certificate was originally issued. For example, if you were originally certified on May 1, 2015, your recertification deadline is May 1, 2019.

To retain status, a CCBCP certificate holder must do one of the following:

  • Retake the CCBCP examination for $345/Member or $445/Non-Member
  • Obtain and report a minimum of 30 CECs and pay a $200/Member or $300/Non-Member recertification fee

Additionally, proof of current third-party technical certification is required at the time of recertification.

The recertification application and fee payment must be postmarked 30 days prior to the certificate holder’s recertification deadline, otherwise they will be assessed a $100 late fee.

Failure to meet recertification requirements by the recertification deadline results in a loss of the CCBCP credential. To become certified again requires retesting.

For more information on recertification and how to track CECs, please refer to this document.